Civil Air Patrol

Arizona Wing Nominees for Regional/National Awards Announced

Arizona Wing Commander Col. Rob Pinckard has sent nominations to Southwest Region for consideration during the 2019 “of the year” awards cycle. Each of the six wings in the region may nominate one member in each award category. At the wing level, these are simply known as “of the year” awards, such as “Cadet Programs Officer of the Year.”

Regions select from these wing-level nominations and send one name forward to be considered for national-level awards, some of which are named in honor of a distinguished Civil Air Patrol member, for example, the John V. “Jack” Sorenson Cadet Programs Officer of the Year. There are nearly 30 duties and functions recognized annually at the CAP national conference as contributing most to the success of CAP’s missions.

Additional of the year awards are presented at the annual Arizona Wing Conference, which will take place May 15-17, 2020, in Prescott.

In accordance with CAP regulations, the wing awards board screens nominations from Arizona unit commanders and forwards recommendations of the best nominees to the wing commander.

“Now is a great time for every unit commander to start making notes about all the activities of your members,” said Lt Col Linda Yeager, Arizona Wing Mission Support Group commander. “You will then be ready for submission at the end of this year (for the 2020 awards).” Questions about the categories and submission requirements may be directed to Lt Col Ron Smith, the wing personnel officer.

These are the Arizona Wing members competing for regional and national recognition for their accomplishments in 2019:

John V. “Jack” Sorenson Cadet Programs Officer of the Year
Master Sgt Anthony Dickerson
Yuma Composite Squadron Deputy Commander for Cadets

Col (Bud) Payton PAO of the Year 
Capt Margot Myers
Deer Valley Composite Squadron Public Affairs Officer
Wing Public Affairs Officer

Professional Development Officer of the Year 
Lt Col Seth Grenke
Yuma Composite Squadron Professional Development Officer
Wing Assistant Professional Development Officer

Safety Officer of the Year
Capt Dolly Mickle
Wing Assistant Safety Officer

Senior Member of the Year                                            
Maj Peter Iannone
Prescott Composite Squadron Deputy Commander

Cadet of the Year                                                           
Cadet Capt Tristan Obregon
Yuma Composite Squadron Cadet Deputy Commander

Frank Brewer Memorial Aerospace Award – Cadet 
Cadet Tech Sgt Cheyenne McKinley
Show Low Composite Squadron Aerospace Education NCO

© 2020 Arizona Wing. All rights reserved.